US State Garnishment Exemptions Summary

Summary of State Garnishment Exemptions

Wage Garnishment, the legal process by which a creditor obtains a payment directly from the debtor’s employer, is governed by both Federal and State laws. In cases where the state and federal laws differ, the larger garnishment exemption applies.

Under Title III of the Consumer Commercial Protection Act (CCPA,) the federal garnishment exemption is either 75% of the employee’s disposable income, or 30 times the current federal minimum wage – whichever is larger. For child support garnishments, the exemption is reduced to 35%-50%, depending on the circumstances. These restrictions don’t apply to federal and state tax garnishments.

Disposable income refers to an employee’s take-home pay after legally required deductions (such as income, Social Security and Medicare taxes).

Below is a table with each a summary for each US state’s garnishment exemptions:

State Amount of Wages Exempt from Wage Garnishment
Alabama 75% of all wages
Alaska 75% of weekly net income, or $402.50
(whichever is greater)
Arizona Federal Law
Arkansas $500 if the head of household; $200 if single
California Federal Law, with exemptions for livelihood necessities
Colorado Federal Law
Connecticut Federal Law
Delaware 85% of disposable earnings, or disposable earnings minus $127.50 weekly (whichever is greater)
Florida 100% if the head of household
Georgia Federal Law
Hawaii 95% of 1st $100, %90 of 2nd $100, %80 of remainder
Idaho Federal Law
Illinois 15% of gross wages or disposable earnings, or up to 45 times the federal minimum wage (whichever is greater)
Indiana Federal Law
Iowa Federal Law
Kansas Federal Law
Kentucky 25% of disposable income, or 30 times the federal minimum wage (whichever is less)
Louisiana Federal Law
Maine 75% of disposable income or 40 times federal minimum wage (whichever is less)
Maryland 75% of disposable income or $145 per week (whichever is greater.) Additional exceptions for certain counties.
Massachusetts $125 per week
Michigan Federal Law
Minnesota 75% or 40 times the federal minimum wage (whichever is greater)
Montana Federal Law
Mississippi Federal Law
Missouri 75% for single person without dependent (90% of week’s net pay if the head of household)
Nebraska 75% of disposable earnings (85% if head of household) or 30 times federal minimum wage
Nevada Federal Law
New Hampshire 50 times federal minimum wage. Court can’t issue ongoing order.
New Jersey $154.54 per week minimum exemption. 10% of earnings over $154.50
New Mexico 75% or 40 times federal minimum wage
New York 90% of earnings, first $154.50 entirely exempt if a minimum wage earner
North Carolina 100% of last 60 days pay.
North Dakota $20 for each dependent, then 75% or 40 times federal minimum wage (whichever is greater)
Ohio Federal Law
Oklahoma 75% of earnings, more if hardship proven
Oregon 75% of earnings above minimum wage
Pennsylvania 100% of wages
Rhode Island Federal Law
South Carolina 100% of wages
South Dakota 20% of disposable income
Tennessee $2.50 per week per dependent child
Texas 100% of wages
Utah $142.50 of disposable earnings
Vermont 75% of earnings above minimum wage, some necessity exemptions (85% if head of household)
Virginia Federal Law
Washington 75% or $206 per week
Washington D.C. Federal Law. Government employees not subject to garnishment.
West Virginia 20% of disposable income or 30 times minimum wage (whichever is less). Other exemptions available.
Wisconsin 80% of net pay
Wyoming Federal Law. Up to 65% for child support
Facebooktwittergoogle_plustumblrFacebooktwittergoogle_plustumblr